Jennifer Louiske’s blog tour!

Jennifer Loiske

How old were you when you finished your first book?

Twenty-ish. It was a children’s book but then life happened and I had to put my writing aside for a while. It took almost six years after that before I was able to start writing again.

(We know how it is when life happens! Glad when we can pick up the writing again!)

How long did it take you to write it?

About one year. Yeah, I know I’m a slow writer…and yeah, it only had thirty-ish pages…

(still working on some of ours, so we also know about slow processes)

What do you do to keep yourself going when you aren’t motivated?

I’m always motivated! I have so many things going on that if I get tired of one project I can jump on the next one and get back to the ‘boring’ one later.

(motivation is always good!)

Which comes first the chicken or the egg… I mean the plot or the characters?

It varies. Sometimes I get obsessed with one character and build the story around him/her, but sometimes the whole plot is ready before I start to write.

(Variety is the spice of life!)

When you set your characters do you use character bios/ sketches or do your characters just land on the page?

Character bios. I write series so it’s impossible to remember all the details about the characters without doing their bios. However, sometimes during the writing I add a ‘surprise’ character or two if the story requires so.

(we like surprises too)

Do you have any advice for the editing process?

First advice: edit, edit, edit and then edit some more. And the second: Know when to quit editing!

(yeah thats a tough one there)

If you could do everything over (writing your book, or publishing, etc.) would you change anything?

Yes. I think I did every possible mistake with my first book. So definitely yes. I would re-write some parts of the story and change the plot line a bit…

(we all feel that way about our first one.  🙂  )

 

Describe yourself in one word –

Workaholic

What super power would you like to have –

Mind-reading

I live in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast (mostly known of the Moomin Valley). I’m a pre-school teacher by profession but I stayed home when my youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. I guess that’s when I first considered starting writing again as I had to stay awake and monitor her whilst she was sleeping and it can be really sleepy and boring when the house is quiet… I’m a workaholic and I always have a lot of projects going on at the same time. I write articles to the magazines and I’m a part of the team that makes Epilepsy Finland Magazine. I love chips, cheesy teen movies (and series too!), books, animals and I have a soft spot for the ones in need of a helping hand. A huge part of my royalties go to charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals.

http://www.jenniferloiske.com/
Amazon US http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=jennifer+loiske
Amazon UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=jennifer+loiske
B&N http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/jennifer-loiske?store=allproducts&keyword=jennifer+loiske

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5821849.Jennifer_Loiske
http://jenniferloiske.wordpress.com/
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJenniferLoiske

2 thoughts on “Jennifer Louiske’s blog tour!

Comments are closed.